There are 178 candidates standing in local and mayoral elections in Salford.

All 60 council seats are up for grabs at this year's election as well as the roles of Salford and Greater Manchester mayors, making it one of the biggest ever.

Labour currently have a majority at the council with 50 councillors in total.

The Conservatives are the main opposition group with eight councillors.

Irlam councillor Darren Goulden is currently the only independent in Salford.

But electoral areas are changing this year with some new wards created and the boundaries changed, which means all 60 seats are up for grabs in May.

Here’s a list of every candidate who will be on the ballot in Salford on May 6.

Barton and Winton

Blackfriars and Trinity

Boothstown and Ellenbrook


Cadishead and Lower Irlam Ward



Higher Irlam and Peel Green

Kersal and Broughton Park

Little Hulton


Pendlebury and Clifton

Pendleton and Charlestown


Swinton and Wardley

Swinton Park

Walkden North

Walkden South

Weaste and Seedley

Worsley and Westwood Park

The polls open at 7am on Thursday, May 6 and close at 10pm.

Residents in the city now have until Monday, April 19 to register to vote and until Tuesday, April 20 to register for a postal vote.

Those who have not registered cannot vote in the elections.