This article was added by the user . TheWorldNews is not responsible for the content of the platform.

Parliament opening proclaimed

Source: Parliament opening proclaimed | The Herald (Local News)

Parliament opening proclaimed 

President Mnangagwa

Herald Reporter

PRESIDENT Mnangagwa yesterday gazetted the proclamation for the opening of the First Session of the 10th Parliament at noon on Tuesday in the New Parliament Building at Mount Hampden.

Under the Constitution, the President has to summon Parliament to meet within 30 days of assuming office, and this he did with Proclamation Number 7 of this year.

The 10th Parliament has in the National Assembly 176 MPs from Zanu PF and 103 from CCC, with the by-election for Gutu West to be held on November 11 to fill the 280th seat.

In the Senate there are 33 senators from Zanu PF, 27 from CCC, 18 senator chiefs and two senators representing people with disabilities.

This is the second time the formal opening of a Parliamentary session is being held at the New Parliament Building.

The formal opening of the fifth and final session of the Ninth Parliament was also held there.