United Kingdom

UK bans arrivals from Tanzania and Democratic Republic of Congo stop South African strain spreading

The UK has banned arrivals from Tanzania and the Democratic Republic of Congo in the latest bid to stop the 'more vaccine resistant' South African Covid strain taking hold in Britain.

Transport Secretary Grant Shapps tonight announced the ban on arrivals entering the country from the two African nations.

The rule, which comes into force from 4am on Friday, will not apply to returning British and Irish nationals and those with residency rights.

More countries have been added to the arrival ban list in a bid to prevent the South African Covid-19 variant from taking hold in the UK. Pictured: The arrivals area of Heathrow Airport

The decision comes after UK's chief scientific adviser Sir Patrick Vallance warned this week that coronavirus variants were a 'real issue of concern'.

Scientists believe the vaccines currently being rolled out may be less effective against the South African variant, known as 501Y.V2.

Mr Shapps tweeted: 'To help to stop the spread of the Covid-19 variant identified in South Africa, we are banning all arrivals from Tanzania and Democratic Republic of Congo from 4am tomorrow.

'All passengers from these countries except British and Irish Nationals and third country nationals with residents rights will be denied entry.

'We are continuing to monitor Covid-19 rates and new strains of the virus across the globe, this alongside the suspension of travel corridors and pre-departure testing will help protect our borders.'

The two countries join several other nations in southern Africa to be slapped with an arrivals ban in the bid to prevent 501Y.V2 from spreading through the UK.

Transport Secretary Grant Shapps tonight announced the ban on arrivals entering the country from the two African nations

A similar travel ban was put into place for South Africa last month, and later neighbouring nations after scientists identified the variant.

Since December 23, entry has been banned for people arriving from South Africa, apart from British nationals or residents who have been subject to an isolation period.

On January 9, the same rules were applied to Namibia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Eswatini, Zambia, Malawi, Lesotho, Mozambique and Angola, as well as Seychelles and Mauritius.

It comes after a recent study by researchers from South Africa, which has not yet been peer-reviewed, found that the SA variant – thought to be about 50 per cent more infectious – contains mutations that may be resistant to immunity from previous coronavirus infection.

Football news:

City are racing towards the record set by a team from Wales. In 2016, the New Saints won 27 consecutive games
Flick about Holand in Bayern: Nothing can be ruled out in life
Messi voted in Barcelona presidential election
Liverpool and Real Madrid will compete for Mbappe. Salah may leave amid controversy with Klopp (As)
Pirlo about Ronaldo's rest: He has already scored 20 goals. It is normal for others to score as well. Cristiano-extra advantage
Agent Morabito on the transfer market: We are back in the Doneymar era
The Juve-Porto match will be served by Kuipers, Cakir is scheduled for the Borussia-Sevilla game