This article was added by the user . TheWorldNews is not responsible for the content of the platform.

Inter-County Super50 to bowl off on Saturday

…Hetmyer, Shepherd, Motie, Rutherford, Chanderpaul, Sinclair among stars to feature

Shimron Hetmyer

In preparation for the upcoming Regional Super50 tournament, the Guyana Cricket Board (GCB) would be bowling off the Senior Inter-County Super50 tournament starting on Saturday September 30.
Several Guyana/West Indies marquee players will be on show as they seek to solidify spots in the Guyana Harpy Eagles team. Guyana is on a mission for a clean sweep of regional senior male tournaments, having won the West Indies Championship 4-Day tournament in April, while the Guyana Amazon Warriors have won the just concluded Republic Bank Limited Caribbean Premier League (RBL CPL) title.
Some of the Warriors who will suit up for their respective counties include Shimron Hetmyer, Gudakesh Motie, Romario Shepherd, Kevlon Anderson, Shamar Joseph, Kevin Sinclar, Ronsford Beaton, and Chandrapaul Hemraj, to name a few. The electrifying Junior Sinclair has been appointed captain of the GCB Select XI, while Christopher Barnwell will serve as his deputy, where he is expected to give guidance and support to young Sinclair and co.

Gudakesh Motie

Saturday’s opening round will see longtime rivals Demerara and Berbice getting the action underway. Berbice will be led by the Caribbean’s leading wicket-taker Veerasammy Permaul, who will have West Indies all-rounder Romario Shepherd as his deputy. A strong Berbice county team would also rely on the talents of Sinclair, Anderson, Joseph, Hetmyer, Johnathan Foo, Nial Smith, Clinton Pestano, Rampertab Ramnauth and Anthony Bramble.
Led by Tevin Imlach, Demerara would be banking on the services of current Test opener Tagenarine Chanderpaul, while former West Indies players Sherfane Rutherford and Chandrapaul Hemraj would help shepherd a young corps featuring Guyana’s future stars in Matthew Nandu, Mavendra Dindyal, Akshaya Persaud, Qumar Torrington and others.
Following Saturday’s opening match, the second match of round 1 would be continued on October 1st with more intense cricket action, as last year’s runners-up Essequibo take on the GCB Select XI at GCC, Bourda.

Sherfane Rutherford

Round 2 will be played on Tuesday, October 3, with Berbice facing GCB Select XI at Enmore, while Demerara battle Essequibo at GCC. On Thursday, Berbice face Essequibo at GCC in a rematch of last year’s final, while Demerara come up against GCB Select XI at Enmore. The final will be played at GCC on Saturday, October 7.
All matches are scheduled to start at 09:00 hours, and will be live streamed on the GCB Facebook page.
The Demerara players, including the reserves and those named in the GCB Select XI, are asked to report to GCC at 12:30h on Wednesday, September 27, for training session.

Tagenarine Chanderpaul

Berbice team: Veerasammy Permaul (captain), Romario Shepherd (vice-captain), Kevin Sinclair, Rampertab Ramnauth, Kevlon Anderson, Shimron Hetmyer, Johnathan Foo, Anthony Bramble, Gudakesh Motie, Nial Smith, Shamar Joseph, Clinton Pestano and Nigel Deodat.
Stand-by: Suresh Dhanai, Kelvin Umrao and Demetri Cameron.
Head Coach is Julian Moore
Manager is Travis Harcourt.
Essequibo Team: Anthony Adams, Kemol Savory, Ronsford Beaton, Ricardo Adams, Kevon Boodie, Quentin Sampson, Neiland Cadogan, Garfield Phillips, Jadon Campbell, Sherland Anthony, David Williams, Malcom Hobbard, Wazim Mohamed and Norman Fredricks.
Stand-by players are Ayran Persaud, Shaheed Veira, Orlando Jailall, Keshun Tracy Rajendra Ramballi and Joshua Jones.
Head Coach is Nandkishore Andrews
Manager is Yogeshwar Lall
Demerara Team: Tevin Imlach (captain), Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Matthew Nandu, Akshaya Persaud (vice-captain), Mavendra Dindyal, Sherfane Rutherford, Steven Sankar, Richie Looknauth, Ronaldo Ali Mohamed, Devon Lord, Qumar Torrington, Floy Joseph, Bernard Bailey.
Stand-by players are: Daniel Mootoo, Riyad Latif, Nehemiah Hohenkirk, Krisna Singh, Brandon Jaikaran and Laurel Parks.
Head Coach is Garvin Nedd
Manager is Surendra Hiralal
GCB Select XI: Junior Sinclair (captain), Sachin Singh, Jonathan Rampersaud, Christopher Barnwell (vice-captain), Raymond Perez, Shamar Yearwood, Joshua Persaud, Jeremiah Scott, Carlos La Rose, Aryan Persaud, Isai Thorne, Zeynul Ramsammy, Cylus Tyndall, Ushardeva Balgobin.
Stand-by players are: Shahid Viera, Zachery Jodah, Robin Williams, Orland Jailall,
Kwesi Mickle, Suresh Dhanai, Kishaun Tracy.
Head Coach is Clive Grimmond
Manager is Ravindranauth Seeram.