Great Britain

Tokyo Olympics LIVE: Latest news, results and medals from swimming, rugby, tennis and more

Tokyo 2020 round-up: Adam Peaty reaches 100m breaststroke final

Day four of the Olympics Games sees Simone Biles go for her first of six possible Olympic gold medals in Tokyo in the women’s team final (from 7.45pm JST/11.45am BST).

British hopes rest on swimmer Duncan Scott going in the men’s 200m freestyle final alongside teammate Tom Dean (10.40am JST/2.40am BST), and Kathleen Dawson going in the women’s 100m backstroke final (10.50am JST/2.50am BST). Bianca Walkden competes in the women’s +67kg taekwondo category (final 10pm JST/2pm BST). Mahama Cho goes in the men’s +80kg class. Andy Murray and Joe Salisbury will be in action in the men’s tennis doubles (11am JST/3am BST) while Team GB take on reigning champions Fiji in rugby sevens.

Earlier Flora Duffy added the Olympic title to her collection of world titles to win Bermuda’s first ever Games gold medal, as Britain’s Georgia Taylor-Brown won silver despite suffering a punctured tyre in a rain-soaked women’s triathlon.

1627350978

Tokyo Olympics: Swimming gold and silver for Team GB

There were high hopes for GB’s Duncan Scott in the men’s 200m freestyle swimming final and he has taken silver – but it was his compatriot Tom Dean who took gold, making it a remarkable result for Britain. Dean touched home in 1 minute 44.22 seconds while Scott trailed behind him by only .04 seconds. Brazil’s Fernando Scheffer took the third spot.

1627349618

Tokyo Olympics: Bermuda wins first ever gold

Multiple world champion Flora Duffy added the Olympic title to her collection to win Bermuda’s first ever gold medal, as Britain’s Georgia Taylor-Brown won silver despite suffering a punctured tyre in a rain-soaked women’s triathlon in Tokyo.

Taylor-Brown and her friend and training partner Jess Learmonth were in the lead group as they emerged from the swim and stayed there throughout the cycle until Taylor-Brown’s misfortune late in the ride. It left her with ground to make up but she transitioned well and began picking off rivals, including Learmonth, to hunt down a hard-earned medal.

“I didn’t know what to do, so I just rode out on the flat,” Taylor-Brown explained afterwards. “It was panic mode but it paid off.” Her gutsy performance produced a second triathlon silver after Alex Yee’s second-place finish at the start of what became a ‘Magic Monday’ for Team GB.

Georgia Taylor-Brown suffered a puncture on the bike ride but fought back to finish second as America’s Katie Zaferes won bronze, but no one could compete with the dominant Flora Duffy

1627349445

Tokyo Olympics day 4

British hopes rest on swimmer Duncan Scott going in the men’s 200m freestyle final alongside teammate Tom Dean (10.40am JST/2.40am BST), and Kathleen Dawson going in the women’s 100m backstroke final (10.50am JST/2.50am BST). Bianca Walkden competes in the women’s +67kg taekwondo category (final 10pm JST/2pm BST). Mahama Cho goes in the men’s +80kg class. Andy Murray and Joe Salisbury will be in action in the men’s tennis doubles (11am JST/3am BST) while Team GB take on reigning champions Fiji in rugby sevens.

Earlier Flora Duffy added the Olympic title to her collection of world titles to win Bermuda’s first ever Games gold medal, as Britain’s Georgia Taylor-Brown won silver despite suffering a punctured tyre in a rain-soaked women’s triathlon.

Football news:

Jamie O'Hara: I don't think that anyone other than Manchester United, City, Liverpool and Chelsea will win the Premier League in the next 10-15 years
Carlo Ancelotti: Hazard is not at the level that we would like to see. It is not easy for him to play 2 matches in a row
Laporte was offered to sell Fati in the summer to register Messi. The president of Barca refused
Ronald Koeman: I wanted to go to Barca, but I didn't expect such problems. I am struggling and I do not regret that I came
Ronaldo got into the start of Manchester United in all 3 games after the transfer. He will play with West Ham from the first minutes
Golovin scored for the first time this season in Ligue 1, making an effective action in the 2nd game in a row
Messi and his family can move to a castle near Paris. The building is estimated at 48 million euros