Voters in Manchester have gone to the ballot box for the 2021 local elections.

Council seats were up for grabs in wards including Ancoats and Beswick, Ardwick, Baguley, Brooklands, Burnage, Charlestown, Cheetham, Chorlton, Chorlton Park, Clayton and Openshaw, Crumpsall, Deansgate, Didsbury East, Didsbury West, Fallowfield, Gorton and Abbey Hey, Harpurhey, Higher Blackley, Hulme, Levenshulme, Longsight, Miles Platting and Newton Heath, Moss Side, Moston, Northenden, Old Moat, Piccadilly, Rusholme, Sharston, Whalley Range, Withington and Woodhouse Park.

Polls closed at 10pm on Thursday May 6 with the count taking place on Friday day time.

Results are expected for the Manchester council local election from mid-afternoon Friday. You can see the full results as they are declared below.

It is the first time local elections have taken place in two years after last year's ballot was cancelled due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

As well as electing local councillors, voters have also been going to the polls to elect the Greater Manchester mayor. Results are expected from this election on Saturday.