Josh Adams' 16th minute try against England has garnered a fair bit of controversy.

Much has already been said about the roles of referee Pascal Gauzere, England captain Owen Farrell, Wales fly-half Dan Biggar and try-scorer Adams in the contentious try which started the ball rolling in Wales' 40-24 Triple Crown victory over Eddie Jones' side.

But all the talk about whether or not the try should have stood, with England not ready to deal with Biggar's quick cross-kick from a penalty, overlooks the smart work by Wales to take advantage of the situation.

Obviously the kick by Biggar to Adams was pinpoint, but there was perhaps more clever work in the build-up.

Wales identified the opportunity in hand, seemingly thanks in part to some instruction from both Liam Williams and Neil Jenkins.

After the penalty was awarded, England huddled under the sticks as Farrell spoke to Gauzere - with the captain instructed to speak to his team about their repeated infringements by the referee.

They turn their backs, but Wales are alive to the opportunity.

Liam Williams can be seen speaking to Dan Biggar before the penalty is taken

Williams speaks to fly-half Biggar as he weighs up his options from the penalty. Obviously, it's impossible to know what was said, but immediately after, Biggar asks Gauzere to tell him when time is on - the catalyst for the whole try.

After that, Williams wonders back and speaks to kicking coach Jenkins briefly, before Jenkins calls across to Louis Rees-Zammit to hold his width on the right wing - implying that Jenkins is now aware of the plan in place.

Williams then speaks to Neil Jenkins - who can be seen pointing over to Louis Rees-Zammit, telling the winger to hold his width

England notice Rees-Zammit's movement and push out to the right side to cover it, but the left wing is left largely unattended - despite Adams' presence on the touchline all along.

Jenkins then begins to moves towards Jonathan Davies with a water bottle. Who knows whether he was looking to impart a similar message out to the left flank, as it's soon redundant.

England spread out to the right wing to kill the threat, but not the left. Jenkins starts to run across to seemingly get a message to Jonathan Davies, but Biggar takes the penalty before he gets there

As mentioned before, Adams had been stood on the touchline throughout and, before Jenkins can even reach Davies, Gauzere has indicated that time is back on and Biggar has kicked it to Adams' wing.

Much has been made about how unfair the situation was on England and there is some credence to that.

But - putting aside the fact that England turned their back on another penalty in the second-half, allowing Kieran Hardy to score from a tap-and-go - England should be looking at themselves as much as the referee.

Because they've been been burned by this exact situation before.

In 2019, Wales spotted an opportunity for a quick penalty as England huddled together
Biggar kicks to the opposite wing and Josh Adams is there in space to claim it

Two years ago, against the same opposition in the same stadium with the same referee, England were caught out by a cross-kick from a Biggar penalty in a World Cup warm-up match after Anthony Watson was sin-binned.

Their habit of huddling up, turning their back on the opposition, cost them that day - just as it did on Saturday.

For all the talk about the referee, Wales did their homework and it paid off.