The final result of the Scottish Parliament election won't be known until later on today but we already know the identities of more than 50 of the MSPs who will be heading for Holyrood next week.

That number includes several new faces who will enter the famous Capital landmark for the first time as an elected member.

So who are these new boys and girls? Find out below - and don't forget to check back later as update the list as more results are declared.


Siobhan Brown (Ayr)

In what could rank as the SNP's biggest win of the entire election, Siobhan Brown won Ayr for Nicola Sturgeon's party from the Tories in one of the closest run races of the campaign.

The South Ayrshire councillor turned the long-held Conservative seat yellow with a dramatic victory over John Scott by just 170 votes. Brown said: "I've been on the council since 2017 and have worked hard regardless of whether people voted for me or not."

Neil Gray (Airdrie and Shotts)

Gray served as MP for the Airdrie constituency at Westminster from 2015 until March this year. He announced his decision to quit last November in order to stand for election to Holyrood. A by-election for his old Westminster seat will take place on May 13. Gray easily won the Holyrood seat with a majority of 5,468 - with former Scottish Labour leader Richard Leonard finishing second.

Neil Gray won the Airdrie and Shotts seat at the election
Neil Gray won the Airdrie and Shotts seat at the election

Explaining his decision to swap Westminster for Holyrood, Gray said after his victory: "I've looked at our MSP colleagues and the fantastic work they do, and Holyrood is where I feel I can make the biggest difference and have the biggest impact for my constituents."

Jenni Minto (Argyll and Bute)

The former seat of Mike Russell - among the many SNP veterans to retire ahead of this election - was won by Jenni Minto. Born in Elgin but raised in St Andrews, she was previously the manager of the Islay Museum of Life and has a home on the island. She told her local paper, the Oban Times: "I feel incredibly humbled. It is such a privilege to represent this amazing constituency and its people."

Michelle Thomson (Falkirk East)

Another former MP, Thomson was elected to represent the Edinburgh Western seat at Westminster in 2015. She quit the party whip in September that year and did not stand for reelection in 2017. Thomson rejoined the party the following year. Speaking at the count on Friday, she said: "We don't yet know the make-up of our new parliament, but if Falkirk East tells us anything, it tells us that Scotland speaks clearly."

Angus Robertson (Edinburgh Central)

Robertson is of course no stranger to frontline politics having previously served as the leader of the SNP's Westminster group of MPs until 2017, when he lost his Moray seat to Douglas Ross. He has since moved to the Capital and won back its Central constituency from the Tories. Robertson is sure to be in for a Cabinet position in Nicola Sturgeon's next government.

Angus Robertson won the Edinburgh Central seat at the election
Angus Robertson won the Edinburgh Central seat at the election

Speaking after his victory, Robertson said: "In this most European of capital cities, people have resoundingly rejected the party of Brexit and Boris Johnson. The public has rejected all of the parties that want to block an independence referendum."

Evelyn Tweed (Stirling)

The former seat of SNP veteran Bruce Crawford, Stirling was held by the Nationalists by new candidate Evelyn Tweed. Originally from Ayr, she has served for several years on Stirling Council. Speaking on Friday, Tweed said: "This is where the hard work starts. We have this pandemic get through and that is the number one priority."

Jackie Dunbar (Aberdeen Donside)

Dunbar is a councillor on the Aberdeen City local authority and won a selection contest for the Donside constituency last year. The seat was previously held by Mark McDonald, who was suspended by the SNP in 2017 and served the remainder of his time at Holyrood as an independent. Shortly after being announced as the winner, she pledged to “stick up for folk no matter how they voted”.

Karen Adam (Banffshire and Buchan Coast)

Adam was a full-time mum before being elected to Aberdeenshire Council for the first time in 2017, and is a long-term campaigner for disabled rights. The seat was previously held by SNP veteran Stewart Stevenson, who has retired from Holyrood. Adam took time on Friday to thank and pay tribute to her deaf father in British Sign Language as she declared her win an “absolute rejection” of the UK’s Brexit deal.

Paul McLennan (East Lothian)

East Lothian was the long-term seat of Iain Gray, but since the former Scottish Labour leader announced last year that he would not seek reelection it became a key SNP target. Local councillor Paul McLennan was the man charged with winning it for the Nationalists and he duly did so on Friday, pushing Labour's Martin Whitfield into second place with a majority of just 1,179 votes. McLennan paid tribute to Gray on Friday, saying: “He has been MSP for a long time, mostly here in East Lothian, and Iain’s presence will be missed."

Stephanie Callaghan (Uddingston and Bellshill)

Callaghan, who worked in youth and adult education provision, held the Uddingston seat for the SNP after Richard Lyle announced his retirement from Holyrood last year. The SNP had faced pressure from opposition parties to drop Callaghan as a candidate after it emerged she had previously compared Theresa May rejecting an independence referendum with the actions of Adolf Hitler.