Facebook users can now archive or delete posts they do not want others to see thanks to a new tool on the social network.

Using the Manage Activity tool, users can select old posts in bulk and choose whether to store them in an archive or send them to the trash section, where they will be deleted after 30 days.

Facebook said the feature was designed to allow users to ‘more accurately reflect who you are today’, adding that people’s jobs, relationships and other circumstances can change over time.

The feature includes filters which allow users to find specific posts based on other people in them or a specific date range.

‘The archive feature is for content you no longer want others to see on Facebook, but that you still want to keep for yourself,’ Facebook said.

Advertisement

Advertisement

‘For example, you could archive a post you made when you were in high school that you still find amusing but that you’d rather not be seen by anyone else on Facebook.

‘Manage Activity also allows you to move posts you no longer want to the trash.

‘Posts sent to the trash will stay there for 30 days before being deleted unless you choose to manually delete or restore them before then. This gives you some wiggle room in case you change your mind about deleting old posts.’

The company confirmed the feature will launch on the mobile version of the platform, before being made available on desktop in the future.

In the meantime, if you want to batch-delete old pictures you can do it by going to your profile and clicking the ‘manage posts’ button.

We recommend switching to the ‘grid view’ rather than the traditional timeline view as it’ll make it easier to select them.

You can even jump back through the years with the drop-down box on the left-hand side.

Clicking the small corner box on each post lets you select up to fifty to delete at once. You’ll see a prompt at the bottom of the screen saying ‘You can hide or delete the posts selected’ next to a big blue ‘Next’ button. Click the button and decide whether you want to just hide the posts or erase them forever.

Advertisement

Advertisement

It’s worth pointing out that you’ll only be able to delete your own posts.

When we tried this for ourselves we weren’t able to delete posts from others that were lodged on our timeline.