From nights out to girls holidays, if you’ve had your Facebook account for several years, it’s likely there are some photos that you’d rather remained private.
Now, Facebook has released a new tool that makes it much easier to hide your embarrassing photos, without deleting them entirely.
The tool, called Manage Activity, allows you to archive or delete old posts, all in one place.
In a blog about the update, Facebook explained: “The archive feature is for content you no longer want others to see on Facebook, but that you still want to keep for yourself.
“For example, you could archive a post you made when you were in high school that you still find amusing but that you’d rather not be seen by anyone else on Facebook.”
The tool also lets you to delete photos and posts you no longer want - although you’ll be given 30 days to change your mind.
Facebook said: “Posts sent to the trash will stay there for 30 days before being deleted unless you choose to manually delete or restore them before then.
“This gives you some wiggle room in case you change your mind about deleting old posts.”
Thankfully, Manage Activity lets you view and manage your photos and posts in bulk, meaning there’s no need to sift through them individually.
Facebook added: “We’ve also developed filters to help you sort and find what you’re looking for, like posts with specific people or from a specific date range.”
The tool will launch first on mobile, before being rolled out on desktop in the near future.