Former Premier League referee Dermot Gallagher admits Ben White was "lucky" to get away without conceding a penalty for his challenge on Harry Kane in the north London derby.

Tottenham striker Kane beat White to the ball on the edge of the area and went down after the Arsenal defender made contact with his foot.

Referee Craig Pawson clearly felt there was not enough contract to warrant a penalty and his decision was backed up by video assistant referee Stuart Attwell.

Gallagher is among those who believe a spot kick should have been awarded, but he admits Attwell was in a "tough position".

Harry Kane went down clutching his ankle after Ben White's challenge in the second half

That is because VAR is only allowed to intervene in the case of blatant refereeing mistakes, with a degree of subjectivity bound to seep in regarding what constitutes a clear and obvious error.

"I think he's lucky," Gallagher told Sky Sports of White. "He doesn't get the ball, I think Kane gets there quickly. He's just a bit slow and he catches him. I wouldn't have been surprised if a penalty was given there.

"What I would say, it didn't meet the threshold for an obvious error. The VAR felt it wasn't a clear and obvious error.

"I thought they were checking if it was inside or outside [the penalty area] first of all, but they thought not.

"That's a decision where I think VAR is in a tough position because if the referee gives a penalty I don't think it will go against him either."

While Gallagher questioned whether Pawson made a clear and obvious mistake, pundits supporting Arsenal and Tottenham were in agreement Kane deserved a penalty.

"I’m keeping quiet because that is a penalty," said former Gunners captain Tony Adams.

Spurs legend Ledley King added: "He (Kane) just knows he has to get a touch on the ball and it’s a foul and it’s going to be a penalty. He’s got his touch, the contacts there."

Sky Sports colleague Graeme Souness also declared it was a penalty, but he expects Kane's theatrics may have counted against him.

"I think that’s a penalty," said the Scot. "Has Harry overcooked it in the way he’s gone down?

"I think he’s exaggerated his fall but there is definitely contact which would warrant a penalty

Spurs boss Nuno Espirito Santo was quizzed on whether he thought his side should have had a penalty and responded: " I didn’t see the images, I’ll not say, the referees there to judge, we have VAR.

"I’m more focused on what I have to do now."

Read More Read More