Elena Whitham today made it an Ayrshire clean sweep for the SNP after being elected to the Scottish Parliament.

The depute leader of East Ayrshire Council held the seat, which was vacated by health secretary Jeane Freeman ahead of the election, for her party who will form the next government.

And it completed a dream two days across the region for the Nationalists following Willie Coffey, Siobhian Brown, Ruth Maguire and Kenneth Gibson's victories yesterday.

All eyes will now be on how the votes are distributed in the regional list seats with the SNP in touching distance of an overall majority at Holyrood.

But for Ms Whitham, it was about absorbing the feeling of being elected an MSP for the first time after the result was announced just after 2.30pm this afternoon.

An impressive second place was claimed by Sharon Dowey from the Scottish Conservatives with the Tories' share of the vote increasing by 6.4 per cent from the 2016 poll.

The SNP and Labour's shares were both down, 3.6 per cent and 3.2 per cent respectively, while turnout in the constituency was up almost five per cent on five years ago.

The Ayrshire Live app is available to download now.

Get all the local news in your area – plus features, football news and the latest on the coronavirus crisis – at your fingertips 24/7.

The free download features the latest breaking news and exclusive stories while you can customise your page with the sections that matter to you.

The Ayrshire Live app is available to download now on iOS and Android.

Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley Results...

Elena Whitham (SNP) 15,240 (42.8%)

Sharon Dowey (Scottish Conservatives) 10,903 (30.6%)

Carol Mochan (Scottish Labour) 8,604 (24.2%)

Kirsten Herbst-Gray (Scottish Liberal Democrats) 875 (2.5%)

Majority: 4,337 Turnout: 59.6%

Don't miss the latest Ayrshire headlines – sign up to our free daily newsletter here