One third of the seats at Wigan council are up for grabs at the election in May.

At least one councillor will be elected in each of the 25 wards in the borough.

Labour currently have a majority at the council with 57 councillors in total.

The Conservatives are the main opposition group with seven councillors, but there are 10 seats at Wigan council represented by independents members.

Four councillors belong to the Independent Network, including all three Atherton councillors and one councillor, Jim Ellis, representing Hindley.

There are six independents who are not part of a group including all three Bryn councillors, two in Hindley Green and one in Shevington With Lower Ground.

There are 97 candidates from nine parties competing for 26 positions in total.

Conservative and Labour candidates will be standing in every council ward, with two candidates from each in Orrell where there are two seats available.

The Lib Dems have 23 candidates, but none in Astley Mosley Common or Ince.

There will be nine candidates described as Independent on the ballot paper with a further three Independent Network candidates in Atherleigh, Atherton and Hindley, one Shevington Independent and one Standish Independent.

Leigh, Atherton & Tyldesley Together will have six candidates standing in total.

There is one UKIP candidate and one Reform UK candidate in the borough.

Residents will also be voting for the position of Greater Manchester mayor.

Here’s a list of every candidate who will be on the ballot in Wigan on May 6.



Aspull New Springs Whelley

Astley Mosley Common





Golborne & Lowton West


Hindley Green


Leigh East

Leigh South

Leigh West

Lowton East



Shevington with Lower Ground

Standish with Langtree Ward


Wigan Central

Wigan West


Worsley Mesnes

The polls open at 7am on Thursday, May 6 and will close at 10pm.

Residents in the city have until Monday, April 19 to register to vote and until Tuesday, April 20 to register for a postal vote.

Those who have not registered cannot vote in the elections.